top of page

Canadian Chess League

images.png

Our mission is to encourage and promote chess across Canada

Info:
Starting: September 21st, 2023 every Thursday at 7:00pm EST
Duration: 10 Weeks
Time control: 45 minutes + 15 seconds
Number of games per evening: 1

Individual cost: $100.00 CAD (only $10 per evening!)

CFC Rated Quick Rating: Players must have a CFC Membership or pay a CFC tournament fee. International players located outside of Canada may still join the CFC and our League.

*This is a separate fee and can be purchased at https://www.chess.ca/en/players/membership-join/ *
As the event is Rapid time control, the quick active tournament fee applies. https://www.chess.ca/en/players/membership-fees/

Location: Online Lichess.org
Prizes: 70% of registration fee. 
Guaranteed $500.00 Winner of Crown Section (2000+ )
Guaranteed $300.00 Winner of U-2000 Section
Guaranteed $150.00 Winner of U-1600 Section 


Eligibility: To be eligible for cash prizes, players must join the group zoom call and their video must be turned on during gameplay.

FAQ's

How does pairings work?

Which ages can participate?

All ages are welcome. 

All pairings are known in advance of each week. 
Players pair using a Swiss-Tournament Format

 

Are there different sections for different ratings?

Yes. There are three sections.
Crown: 2000+ Rated
U-2000 Rated
U-1600 Rated

Ratings refer to your lichess.org Rapid Rating

 

Email your questions to contact@chesseducation.net

How do I match with my opponent on lichess.org?

For how to on Individual matching and pairing, click: Lichess Pairing

Youtube and Broadcasting

Want to tune in and watch?
Check out one of our players' coverage of their games in the previous league at twitch.tv/cobrachess

Have a Youtube Channel about chess and want to be an official broadcaster for the event?
Email contact@chesseducation.net with the heading "Broadcasting"

2023 League - Starts, Thursday September 21, 2023

One game per week, every Thursday at the following times:

British Columbia PST (GMT-8) Thursday, September 21 at 4:00 pm


Alberta MST (GMT-7) Thursday, September 21 at 5:00 pm 

Northwest Territories MST (GMT-7) Thursday, September 21 at 5:00 pm 

Manitoba CST (GMT-6) Thursday, September 21 at 6:00 pm

Saskatchewan CST (GMT-6) Thursday, September 21 at 6:00 pm

Nunavut (Iqualit) EST (GMT-5) Thursday, September 21 at 7:00 pm

Ontario EST (GMT-5) Thursday, September 21 at 7:00 pm


Quebec EST (GMT-5) Thursday, September 21 at 7:00pm

New Brunswick AST (GMT-4) Thursday, September 21 at 8:00 pm


Newfoundland and Labrador (Island) NST (GMT-3:30) September 21, at 8:30 pm


Newfoundland and Labrador (Mainland) AST (GMT-4) September 21, at 8:00 pm


Nova Scotia AST (GMT-4) Thursday, September 21 at 8:00 pm


Prince Edward Island AST (GMT-4) Thursday, September 21 at 8:00 pm

 

bottom of page