Canadian Chess League

images.png

Our mission is to encourage and promote chess across Canada

Info:
Starting: October 20, 2022 every Thursday at 7:00pm EST
Duration: 10 Weeks
Time control: 15 minutes + 10 seconds
Number of games per evening: 4
Individual cost: $100.00 CAD (only $10 per evening!)

CFC Rated Quick Rating: Players must have a CFC Membership or pay a CFC tournament fee. International players located outside of Canada may still join the CFC and our League.

*This is a separate fee and can be purchased at https://www.chess.ca/en/players/membership-join/ *
As the event is Rapid time control, the quick active tournament fee applies. https://www.chess.ca/en/players/membership-fees/

Location: Online Lichess.org
Prizes: 70% of registration fee. 
Guaranteed $500.00 Winner of Crown Section (2000+ )
Guaranteed $300.00 Winner of U-2000 Section
Guaranteed $150.00 Winner of U-1600 Section 


Eligibility: To be eligible for cash prizes, players must join the group zoom call and their video must be turned on during gameplay.

  • Starts Oct 20

    100 Canadian dollars

    Loading availability...

FAQ's

How does pairings work?

Which ages can participate?

All ages are welcome. 

Are there different sections for different ratings?

Players play both white and black against the same opponent. 
All pairings are known in advance of each week. 
Players pair using a Swiss-Tournament Format

 

Email your questions to contact@chesseducation.net

Yes. There are three sections.
Crown: 2000+ Rated
U-2000 Rated
U-1600 Rated

Ratings refer to your lichess.org Rapid Rating

 

How do I match with my opponent on lichess.org?

For how to on Individual matching and pairing, click: Lichess Pairing

Youtube and Broadcasting

Want to tune in and watch?
Check out one of our players' coverage of their games in the previous league at twitch.tv/cobrachess

Have a Youtube Channel about chess and want to be an official broadcaster for the event?
Email contact@chesseducation.net with the heading "Broadcasting"

2022 League - Starts, Thursday October 20, 2022

Four games per week, every Thursday at the following times:

British Columbia PST (GMT-8) Thursday, October 20 at 4:00 pm


Alberta MST (GMT-7) Thursday, October 20 at 5:00 pm 

Northwest Territories MST (GMT-7) Thursday, October 20 at 5:00 pm 

Manitoba CST (GMT-6) Thursday, October 20 at 6:00 pm

Saskatchewan CST (GMT-6) Thursday, October 20 at 6:00 pm

Nunavut (Iqualit) EST (GMT-5) Thursday, October 20 at 7:00 pm

Ontario EST (GMT-5) Thursday, October 20 at 7:00 pm


Quebec EST (GMT-5) Thursday, October 20 at 7:00pm

New Brunswick AST (GMT-4) Thursday, October 20 at 8:00 pm


Newfoundland and Labrador (Island) NST (GMT-3:30) Thursday, October 20 at 8:30 pm


Newfoundland and Labrador (Mainland) AST (GMT-4) Thursday, October 20 at 8:00 pm


Nova Scotia AST (GMT-4) Thursday, October 20 at 8:00 pm


Prince Edward Island AST (GMT-4) Thursday, October 20 at 8:00 pm